Skip to main content


Content about the organization.


As an intergovernmental economic cooperation program, BIMP-EAGA has an institutional structure that facilitates consultations and dialogue between and among the member countries at both national and subregional levels.  

Economic Corridors

BIMP-EAGA is developing two priority economic corridors: the West Borneo Economic Corridor and the Greater Sulu–Sulawesi Corridor.

What are the opportunities?

BIMP-EAGA has the potential to help build a single ASEAN production base by providing supply and value chains and by supporting the development and active participation of small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) in productive sectors. Its increasing population and incomes also provide a growing market for goods and services. 

BIMP-EAGA promotes the sustainable development of industries where it already has, or could easily develop, a competitive advantage. These include green manufacturing, agro-industry and fisheries, and tourism.  

How does it work?

BIMP-EAGA is an intergovernmental economic cooperation program that is envisioned to promote private sector-led and market-driven growth. 

What is BIMP-EAGA?  

The Brunei Darussalam–Indonesia–Malaysia–Philippines East ASEAN Growth Area, or BIMP-EAGA, is a cooperation initiative established in 1994 to spur development in remote and less developed areas in the four participating Southeast Asian countries.

History of BIMP-EAGA

First Decade of Cooperation (1994–2005)

The four member nations drew up national development strategies and modified some policies in support of BIMP-EAGA. Cooperative agreements were facilitated, and cross-border arrangements explored. Policies liberalizing the transport sector enhanced the movement of people and goods. New commercial air and sea linkages were established between major urban areas. Tourism benefited from new investments in hotels and other related facilities.